FIFA & EA Sports Reveal Changes To 2020 eSports Season Format

FIFA 2020 eWorld Cup format changes - eSports Soccer

Changes Made To The 2020 FIFA eWorld Cup

The FIFA eWorld Cup, a popular eSports competition, is organized by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association and Electronic Arts.

Fans and bettors will see a few new variations implemented during the 2020 FIFA eWorld Cup season.

New Improvements And Format Changes

EA’s objective with these changes is to simplify online qualifications. This has been made simpler by having this “friendly competition” resemble professional soccer.

This new format will see teams and individuals play two games to determine who advances. Aggregate goals will help determine the winner in case of a tie.

EA will also allow teams and individual players to stream their group stage games. Streaming will allow fans in every corner of the world to watch, enjoy, and bet on every single eSports game.

Professional Leagues To Participate

Most importantly, this new edition will see more professional leagues taking part in the competition.

Some of the most notable are:

  • Germany’s Bundesliga
  • Spain’s La Liga
  • Major League Soccer (MLS) from the United States and Canada

Playoff Spots Increase

The Global Series Playoffs will go from including a total of 60 playoff spots to a new total of 128 spots that include the top 64 competitors from both PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

What Happened Last Season?

The international tournament, formerly known as the FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC), will continue to allow millions to compete in the initial online stages. This resulted in it being recognized as the largest online eSports game by Guinness World Records.

The 2019 edition gave out a total of $500,000 in prizes.

Mohammed “MoAuba” Harkous from Germany won the trophy as the first PS4 player to win since 2015. We hope to see even bigger prizes and a more competitive tournament next year.

When Will The eWorld Cup Be Played?

The start of the EA Sports FIFA 20 Global Series begins on November 8th. This is when the first of six FIFA Ultimate Team competitions kick-off.

We’ll be looking forward to how EA’s new variations turn out and hope to see lots of new players show off their skills.

Join 1,000+ Sports Bettors Who receive our experts' newsletter And never miss a winning sports pick!
Emailed weekly, unsubscribe with a single click.

This content is not available

We apologize for the inconvenience, but this content is not available.
Go Back